Skip to content

Public Advisory Roundtable (PAR)

Meet Our 2024 Awardees

The ATS Public Advisory Roundtable presents two awards annually at the ATS PAR Symposium as part of the ATS International Conference. Additionally, PAR Members provide abstract scholarships in their own areas of interest based on meritorious abstract submissions to the ATS International Conference.

John W. Walsh PAR Award for Excellence

John W. Walsh founded both the COPD Foundation and the Alpha-1 Foundation. In these roles, he served as an original member of the ATS Public Advisory Roundtable. As a member of the ATS, his influence and leadership shaped PAR and PAR’s continued support of the ATS Research Program .

The Walsh PAR Excellence Award is an honor awarded by persons affected by pulmonary disease to a domestic or international individual, group or institution from any lay, professional or government field who has improved the lives of patients by:

  • Enabling research and advancing the understanding of disease through legislation, advocacy or philanthropy
  • Performing basic or clinical scientific works that have produced tangible and significant benefits for affected individuals
  • Providing vision, hope, support or relief to those who live with life–threatening pulmonary illness.
Courtney White

The 2024 honoree is Courtney White, PhD, MLS, CAE.

Dr. White served as lead staff for the ATS PAR for more than 15 years and must be credited for the roundtable’s continued growth and vibrancy. He is beloved by the respiratory and critical care patient community for his commitment to tell their stories, as evidenced by 12 volumes of the ATS publication Patient Voices”.

“No matter how many medical advancements we make, we will always be able to learn from patients. Taking the time to read their stories reminds us...that their disease does not define them, even when it does define their daily lives.”

Dr. White is currently the executive director of the Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists.

William J. Martin, II Distinguished Achievement Award

The ATS Public Advisory Roundtable was founded through the vision of then ATS President Dr. Bill Martin, who sought “to create something quite different that would include patients in the heart of its organization”.

The recipient of the William J. Martin, II Distinguished Achievement Award is an honor awarded to a person who embodies the many characteristics of its namesake listed below.

  • Innovative Spirit
  • Outstanding Leadership Skills
  • Impressive History in Public Service
  • Passion for Patients
James Chmiel, MD, MPH, ATSF

The 2024 William C. Martin Awardee is Dr. James Chmiel, MD, MPH, ATSF - division chief for Pediatric Pulmonology, Allergy and Sleep Medicine and a professor of Pediatrics at Indiana University School of Medicine. Dr. Chmiel exemplifies the qualities celebrated by this prestigious award.

For over 25 years, Dr. Chmiel has been a leader in the field of pulmonology and allergy-immunology and has participated in – and led - significant research that has translated to new therapies for those living with lung disease, particularly cystic fibrosis. Dr. Chmiel has had a significant impact upon the field of cystic fibrosis, through his extensive research, extraordinary clinical skills, and passion for patients. Dr. Chmiel holds membership in numerous national professional societies including the American Thoracic Society, Society for Pediatric Research, and the American Pediatric Society. His research focuses on airway inflammation particularly as it relates to cystic fibrosis and asthma.

PAR Abstract Awards

Members of PAR sponsor abstract awards in their respective areas of focus. Selections are based on meritorious science as ranked by the ATS Assemblies. Awardees are invited to present at the annual PAR Dinner at the ATS International Conference.

Our 2024 awardees will be announced at the end of March 2024.

2024 PAR Abstract Award Winners

Asthma and Allergy Network – Kritika Khanna PhD
ARDS Alliance – Dario Von Wedel
Cystic Fibrosis Research Institute – Ashely Han, MD
Foundation for Sarcoidosis Research – Wen-Hsin Chang, PhD
Hermansky-Pudlak Syndrome Network – Lourdes Marinna Caro-Rivera, BS
Lung Transplant Foundation – Tahir Malik, MD
PAP Foundation – Evan Hoffman, PhD
PCD Foundation – Yashaswini Ramananda, MS
PCD Foundation – Daniel Wallman, MD
PDC Foundation – Erin Cant MSc ,BSc(Hons)
PCD Foundation – Jacob McCoy, MD
Pulmonary Fibrosis Foundation – Christopher Molina, MD
Pulmonary Fibrosis Foundation – Ahmed A. Raslan, PhD, MSci, BSc
Vasculitis Foundation – Manoj Arra, MD, PhD
Vasculitis Foundation – Alane Blythe Dy, PhD, MSPH