Skip to content


Scientific Review Process

The ATS Scientific Grant Review Committee (SGRC)* is composed of nationally renowned pulmonary, sleep, and critical care researchers. Each year, the SGRC leads a rigorous, NIH-style review process to identify the most impactful research proposals that the ATS Research Program receives. If a need is identified, the SGRC selects additional ad hoc reviewers to participate in the review to ensure that the expertise within the review committee matches the diversity of the grant application topics. Together, the reviewers determine the overall impact of each application by assessing the quality of the investigator’s scientific background and research environment and evaluating each proposal’s overall significance, innovation, feasibility, and importance to patients.

The process steps are outlined below:

  1. Letters of intent are reviewed, and the most promising candidates are invited to submit full applications.
  2. Each application is assigned to three reviewers, who independently provide the application with an overall impact score.
  3. Applications are ranked by their average preliminary score. The lowest scoring applications are triaged.
  4. Applications that are not triaged are discussed at the annual SGRC Review meeting. The entire committee evaluates the top scoring grants, and each member votes on the application's overall impact.
  5. The voted scores are averaged, and applications are ranked from lowest to highest score. The reviewers recommend the top scoring application(s) in each grant category for funding.

Scientific Grant Review Committee (SGRC)

Chair Kamran Atabai, MD, San Francisco, CA

Vice Chair Erick Forno, MD, MPH, ATSF, Indianpolis, IN

Committee Members:

Najib Ayas, MD, MPH
Leonard B. Bacharier, MD
Susan J. Bartlett, PhD
Wei Chen, PhD, ATSF
Stephanie A. Christenson, MD, MS
Laura E Crotty Alexander. MD, ATSF
Horace Delisser, M. MD
Michael B. Fessler, MD, ATSF
Jose L. Gomez, MS, MD, ATSF
Theresa W. Guilbert, MD, MS
Jonathan C. Jun, MD
Jacqueline M. Kruser, MD, MS
Hrishikesh S. Kulkarni, MD, MSc, ATSF
Tim Lahm, MD, ATSF
Janet, Lee, MD, ATSF
Lisa A. Miller, PhD
Vsevolod S. Polotsky, MD, PhD
Elizabeth F. Redente, PhD, ATSF
Mary B. Rice, MD, MPH
Margaret Rosenfeld, MD
Ciara M. Shaver, MD, PhD
Sunita, Sharma, MD, MPH
Edda F. Spiekerkoetter, MD
Yen-Rei A.Yu, MD, PhD

Staff: Miriam Rodriguez, Leslie Engel

The ATS Scientific Grant Review Committee provides strategic guidance for the Society’s research programs and scientific policies and is primarily responsible for the direct oversight for the process of reviewing grants applications to the ATS Research Program. 

The Committee provides oversight for the ATS Research Program and works with ATS staff on identifying additional extramural sources of funding. It recommends policies to the Board that would further the Society’s science and research mission and objectives, including scientific areas in need of research, and develops collaborations with other societies and organizations to further research in pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine with an interest in proposals that advance health equity. 

The Committee determines the number of Scientific Review Groups and the number of members of each Scientific Review Group needed to provide scientific review for the different grant programs. It also identifies the chair and members of the ATS Scientific Review Groups. Additionally, it determines the process and develops application forms, criteria and guidelines for the various grant opportunities. Oversees the work of the different review groups and selects grants for funding.